Practitioner of the Year Award

The Practitioner of the Year Award recognizes and honours Canadian dermatologists providing excellence in patient care to their community at large, and whose major focus is in clinical practice.

Nomination Eligibility Requirements
  • The award is open to living dermatologists.
  • Nominees must be members of the Canadian Dermatology Association.
  • Nominations can be submitted by peers, colleagues or trainees but must be supported by two dermatologists.
  • Self-nomination is ineligible.
  • Nominations will be evaluated by the Membership and Awards Committee taking into consideration the eligibility and focus of the award.
  • The CDA shall be under no obligation to make the award annually.
  • The award will be presented at the CDA Annual Conference.
  • Nomination submissions must be received by the deadline date. Any submissions received beyond that date will not be considered.
The nomination submission must include:
  • A current curriculum vitae
  • A letter of nomination summarizing the contributions made by the nominee to dermatology and to the community at large over the past calendar year
  • Two letters of support from other dermatologists (maximum of two pages each)
  • Up to two more letters of support from members of the community are also welcomed
Nominations will be accepted until March 1, 2024.

2023 Dr. Robert Tremaine

2022 Dr. Tadeusz Pierscianowski

2020 Dr. William Gerstein

2019 Dr. Duane Lichtenwald

2018 Dr. Neil Shear

2017 Dr. Afsaneh Alavi