Dr. Jennifer Beecker

President, Canadian Dermatology Association

Dr. Beecker is a dermatologist at The Ottawa Hospital, Assistant Professor at The University of Ottawa and the Research Director for the Division of Dermatology at The Ottawa Hospital, in addition to having a private medical, cosmetic and dermatology research practice. She has volunteered for the Canadian Dermatology Association (CDA) for over 10 years in several roles. She has been an active member of the Board of Directors for over 6 years. She was National Chair and Spokesperson for the CDA’s Sun Awareness Program for past six years, Secretary of the CDA Board of Directors 2018-2020, Vice-President 2020-2021, and Chair of the Membership and Awards Committee 2018-2020.  She also volunteered on the CDA Conference Committee and Sun Protection Program Committee. Currently, she is President of the CDA.

Dr. Beecker is Vice-Chair of the Executive Committee for the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons Dermatology Examination and trains medical residents and students at the Ottawa Hospital. She is a Royal College and American Board of Dermatology certified dermatologist, trained and certified in 3 medical specialties: Dermatology, Emergency Medicine and Family Medicine. She was a Staff Emergency Physician in a Level One Trauma Centre for 6 years before pursuing dermatology. Currently, Dr. Beecker’s interests include medical dermatology, in-patient hospital dermatology, pigmented lesions, and research. As a Clinical Investigator in the Clinical Epidemiology Program at the Ottawa Hospital Research Institute (OHRI) she has had success obtaining grants for her research including from the NIH (National Institutes of Health).

In 2016, and again in 2020, Dr. Beecker received the President’s Cup Award by the Canadian Dermatology Association for outstanding volunteer contribution. She was awarded the Canadian Dermatology Association Residents and Fellows Society Clinical Teaching Award in 2013 and was nominated for the 2013 PAIRO (Professional Association of Interns and Residents of Ontario) Excellence in Clinical Teaching Awards.